The Nichols House Museum is an 1804 townhouse attributed to Charles Bulfinch, nestled on Boston’s historic Beacon Hill. From 1885 until 1960 it was the home of Rose Standish Nichols, landscape gardener, suffragist and pacifist. The museum provides a unique glimpse into domestic life in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, and is furnished with priceless family possessions accumulated over several generations, including fine European and American wooden furniture from the 17th-19th centuries, ancestral portraits, Flemish tapestries, oriental rugs, European and Asian art, and works by America's foremost sculptor of the 19th century, Augustus Saint-Gaudens.
House may only be accessed via free guided tours offered on the hour, starting at 11am with the last tour at 4pm. Tours are Saturday only, and are first-come, first-served; space is limited.
Nichols House Museum
Architect: Design attributed to Charles Bulfinch.
617-227-6993 | Not wheelchair accessible.