The Shattuck Visitor Center, a pump house designed by H.H. Richardson in 1882, was originally a key element of Frederick Law Olmsted's sanitary improvement of the Back Bay Fens. Deactivated in the 1970s, the Stony Brook Gatehouse, as it was called, sat idle for many years. Repurposed in 2010 by Ann Beha Architects, it now serves as a visitor center and office of the Emerald Necklace Conservancy, a private nonprofit whose mission is to improve and restore the Olmsted-designed Emerald Necklace parks. Considered the founder of American landscape architecture, Olmsted designed the Emerald Necklace park system in the late 19th century. It consists of a seven mile chain of green spaces linked by parkways and waterways, connecting Boston Common to Franklin Park.
Explore historic photos and plans of the Emerald Necklace, or grab a map for a self-guided tour of the bridges and structures in the Fens built by Olmsted, Richardson and others.
Emerald Necklace Conservancy and the Shattuck Visitor Center
Architect: Henry Hobson Richardson (original), Ann Beha Architects (adaptive reuse)
Year: 1882, 2010
617-522-2700 | Wheelchair accessible